What is OET?

Healthcare professionals who want to work in an English-speaking setting can have their English language communication skills evaluated by taking the Occupational English Test (OET). Most hospitals, institutions, authorities, and countries in the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Dubai, Singapore, and Namibia accept the exam. The Occupational English Test (OET) was designed to assess the English communication skills of healthcare professionals. The OET evaluates proficiency in four areas of the English language: speaking, reading, writing, and listening.

OET Exam

In addition to texts in a general healthcare setting, test takers will need to show that they can comprehend and respond to questions regarding presentations and consultations in general healthcare. Test takers must use speaking prompts to conduct acceptable and productive talks with patients about particular healthcare professions, as well as writing accurate and professional letters with the use of prompts.

Who makes OET?

Professor Tim McNamara of the University of Melbourne created the OET in the late 1980s with assistance from the Australian National Office for Overseas Skills Recognition (NOOSR), which was in charge of administering the exam at the time. The Cambridge Boxhill Language Assessment Trust (CBLA), a joint venture between Cambridge English Language Assessment and Box Hill Institute, has held the test since March 2013.

Which OET version is it?

Healthcare workers in the following 12 fields may take the OET exam: radiography, speech pathology, dentistry, dietetics, medicine, nursing, occupational therapy, optometry, pharmacy, physiotherapy, podiatry, and veterinary science.

How can I apply for the OET?

Please visit www.occupationalenglishtest.org/apply-oet/ to submit an application to take the OET. You should try to start studying for the test before applying, as you may only be able to choose from the next two available test dates when you register to take the OET. You must upload a color passport photo of yourself and consult an identity document in order to apply online.


OET offers a valid and reliable evaluation of the four language skills—speaking, writing, reading, and listening—with a focus on professional and medical situations and communication. OET consists of four sub-tests:

Format of OET Test